

Board of Trustees COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of March 1, 2018

Present: Trustee Paul Holloway (Chair), Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Vice Chair), Trustee Kim Trisciani (Secretary), Trustee Jeremy Hitchcock (teleconference), Trustee Alison Stebbins, Trustee Allen Damren, Trustee Connie Roy-Czyzowski, Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Edwin Smith, Trustee Rebecca Clerkin, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Hannah Croce, Trustee Cheryl Kahn, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Steve Ellis (teleconference), Trustee Stephen Guyer, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Commissioner Frank Edelblut, Chancellor Ross Gittell, President Lucille Jordan (NCC, RVCC), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), Interim President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Susan Dunton (NHTI),

Regrets: President Susan Huard (MCC, GBCC), Trustee Natalie Baker, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Krishna Mangipudi, Interim President Deborah Schmitt, Governor Christopher Sununu, Commissioner Taylor Caswell, Commissioner George Copadis

Others Presenting to the Board: Shannon Reid, Richie Coladarci, Jeanne Herrick

Chair Holloway called the meeting to order at 11:04 a.m. at Great Bay Community College in Portsmouth, NH.

Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved and no conflicts of interest were expressed.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Calhoun and seconded by Ms. Roy-Czyzowski,

voted unanimously by roll call to approve the minutes of the February 1, 2018

meeting as written.

Proposed Changes to Job Titles & Descriptions of CCSNH Senior Leadership Team

Ms. Shields introduced the proposed changes to the job titles and descriptions of the CCSNH Senior Leadership Team as described in board policy sections 230, 240, and 250. Chancellor Gittell added that these changes will provide a clearer understanding of the positions, as mentioned in the LBA performance audit report, and they will have no impact on current responsibilities or budget. Trustees recommended adding language regarding the performance evaluation of the Chancellor and removing language that remained from the former job description. Ms. Herrick will send the amended language to the board following the meeting.



VOTE: The Board, on motion of Ms. Shields and seconded by Mr. Heath, voted

unanimously by roll call to approve the amendment of the Board of Trustees Operation/ Administration policies (sections 230, 240, and 250) as amended.

Presidential Searches

Mr. Coladarci provided updates on the presidential searches currently underway for Great Bay CC, River Valley CC, and Lakes Region CC. He thanked Ms. Harris and President Huard (GBCC), President Jordan and Mr. Damren (RVCC), and Mr. Arvelo and Ms. Shields (LRCC) for leading the efforts of their respective search committees, which have already started the process. Candidate visits are expected to be scheduled in late April or May, after which time recommendations for final candidates will be brought to the board for approval.

Chairperson's Report

Chair Holloway notified the Board that he has created an ad hoc committee to address the current committee structure and asked Ms. Shields to present the CCSNH Board Working Group on Committee Structure. Following the work and findings of the committee, Ms. Shields expects that there will be fewer board committees, and she will report back the board on the committee's progress at the June board meeting. Mr. Damren, Ms. Lucas, Mr. Smith, Ms. Stebbins, and Ms. Shields will serve on this committee.

Chair Holloway announced his resignation as Chairman of the Board of Trustees, noting the immense change and progress that CCSNH has made during his tenure and thanking the Senior Leadership Team, Presidents, staff, students, and board for their help, cooperation, and friendship during his chairmanship. Chancellor Gittell thanked Chair Holloway for his remarkable contributions and commitment to CCSNH's growth during his 13 years as Chairman. Ms. Shields thanked Chair Holloway for being an extraordinary champion of CCSNH and for ushering CCSNH through a strong period of transformation.

Governance Committee Report

Ms. Roy-Czyzowski presented the slate of board officers for 2018-2019, as approved by the Governance Committee:

• Chair: Jeremy Hitchcock

• Vice Chair: Kathy Bogle Shields

• Treasurer: Alison Stebbins

• Secretary: Kim Trisciani

• Past Chair: Paul Holloway



VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Calhoun and seconded by Mr. Guyer, voted

unanimously by roll call to approve the slate of officers for 2018-2019 as

presented.

Ms. Roy-Czyzowski provided an update on the progress of term renewals for Trustees whose terms expire this year. Trustee Duhaime has resigned from the board due to work conflicts, and Ms. Roy-Czyzowski is working with the Governor's Office to identify his replacement. Trustees are welcome to submit recommendations for prospective trustees to the Governor.

Ms. Roy-Czyzowski and Ms. Clerkin will meet with Lakes Region CC faculty at the college before the April board meeting to discuss the open employee trustee position that they will fill after Ms. Clerkin's term expires in November. New student trustees will be elected from River Valley CC and White Mountains CC for the 2018-2019 year.

Other Business

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 12:04 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner

Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees