

Board of Trustees

Community College System of NH Emergency Meeting of August 30, 2018

Present (telephonically): Trustee Jeremy Hitchcock (Chair), Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Kim Trisciani (Secretary), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Allen Damren, Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Edwin Smith, Trustee Cheryl Kahn, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Steven Hattamer, Trustee Rebecca Clerkin, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Richard Killion, Chancellor Ross Gittell

Regrets: Trustee Connie Roy-Czyzowski, Trustee John Stevens, Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Steve Ellis, Trustee Diane Symonds, Trustee Tiffiney Poirier, Governor Christopher Sununu, Commissioner Copadis, Commissioner Edelblut, Commissioner Caswell, President Susan Huard (MCC, GBCC), President Lucille Jordan (NCC), President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Alfred Williams IV (RVCC)

Others Attending: Charles Ansell, Shannon Reid, Richie Coladarci, Jeanne Herrick

Chair Hitchcock called the meeting to order at 4:02 pm.

Non-Public Session

VOTE:

The Board, on motion of Ms. Trisciani and seconded by Mr. Damren, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:3, II(a), in order to discuss a personnel matter.

The Board entered non-public session at 4:05 pm and returned to public session at 4:25 pm. One vote was taken in the non-public session.

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 4:26 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees

CCSNH BOARD OF TRUSTEES Emergency Meeting of August 30, 2018

NON-PUBLIC SESSION

Present (telephonically): Trustee Jeremy Hitchcock (Chair), Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Kim Trisciani (Secretary), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Allen Damren, Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Edwin Smith, Trustee Cheryl Kahn, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Steven Hattamer, Trustee Rebecca Clerkin, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Richard Killion, Chancellor Ross Gittell, Charles Ansell, Shannon Reid, Richie Coladarci, Jeanne Herrick

The non-public session was called to order at 4:05 pm.

Chancellor Gittell presented his recommendation to the board to appoint Dr. Cathryn Addy to Interim President of NHTI, Concord's Community College. Following former President Dunton's resignation, the Chancellor met with senior leadership as well as with faculty and staff at the college, who developed a list of the most important characteristics for their next president. Their list of qualities and attributes closely matches the background of Dr. Addy; including her extensive experience as a demonstrated leader and college president, strong communication skills, academic affairs experience, approachability, and a willingness to listen, collaborate, and engage faculty and staff. Chancellor Gittell reviewed Dr. Addy's CV with the board, including her successes in increasing enrollment, master planning, and developing a robust workforce development program. Discussion followed regarding Dr. Addy's leadership style, which aligns well with the needs of NHTI, her positive references, and encouraging responses from the NHTI community regarding her candidacy.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Holloway and seconded by Mr. Heath, voted unanimously by roll call to appoint Cathryn Addy to Interim President at NHTI, Concord's Community College at a monthly wage rate of \$14,583.33 plus a housing allowance of approximately \$1,300 per month and assignment of a fleet vehicle for business and commuting purposes, effective September 10, 2018 through May 23, 2019. The appointment may be extended up to three months at the discretion of the Chancellor, contingent on the timing of a new President's selection and start date.

The non-public session adjourned at 4:25 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees