

Student Success Committee

CCSNH BOARD OF TRUSTEES Meeting of December 17, 2020

Attending (teleconference): Trustee Steve Rothenberg (Chair), Trustee John Calhoun, Trustee Jeff Cozzens, Trustee Zander Johnson, Trustee Bryant Abbott, Trustee Sharon Harris, NCC President Lucille Jordan, RVCC President Alfred Williams, Joe Doiron (BEA), CCSNH Interim Chancellor Susan Huard, WMCC Business Affairs Officer Scott Fields, CCSNH Executive Director of Government Affairs and Communications Shannon Reid, CCSNH Director of DOE and College Access Programs Beth Doiron, NHTI President Gretchen Mullin-Sawicki, LRCC President Larissa Baia, MCC President Brian Bicknell, CCSNH Chief Advancement Officer Tim Allison

Regrets: Commissioner Frank Edelblut

Committee Chair Rothenberg called the meeting to order at 9:02 am. Regarding the conduct of a telephonic meeting and counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location, the Chair declared an emergency meeting in order to follow social distancing guidelines related to the current public health crisis, pursuant to RSA 91-A: 2 (III)(b).

Approval of September 17, 2020 Minutes

VOTE: The Committee, on motion of Mr. Calhoun and seconded by President Williams, voted unanimously by roll call to approve the minutes of the September 17, 2020 meeting as revised.

New Committee Members

The committee welcomed new employee trustee Bryant Abbott from Manchester CC and ex-officio trustee Joe Doiron from the NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs (BEA).

Non-Public Session

VOTE: The Committee, on motion of Mr. Rothenberg and seconded by Mr. Calhoun, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A: 3, II (d), in order to discuss an acquisition.

The committee entered non-public session at 9:18 am and returned to public session at 10:02 am. No votes were taken in the non-public session.

VOTE: The Committee, on motion of Mr. Abbott and seconded by Mr. Calhoun, voted unanimously by roll call to seal the minutes based upon RSA 91- A: 3, III, in that divulgence of the information may render the proposed action ineffective.

VOTE: The Committee, on motion of Mr. Calhoun and seconded by Mr. Cozzens, voted unanimously by roll call to recommend to the Assets & Resources and Finance Committees the proposal, as presented, to relocate the WMCC Diesel Heavy Equipment and Industrial Mechanics Programs from Berlin, NH to Littleton, NH, while expanding the Information Technology and Welding Programs to meet the demand of northern Grafton County residents.



Challenges & Opportunities

The committee discussed increasing enrollment of high school students into post-secondary education and of adults seeking credit or non-credit training to move into high-demand fields.

Additional challenges and opportunities discussed include:

- Marketing to parents
- Program sharing
- Increasing transferability to 4-year institutions
- Pathways
- Establishing partners that will help CCSNH make progress quickly and reliably
- Flexibility

Chancellor Huard provided an update on the work of the CCSNH-USNH synergies committee. Course and program sharing work has been prioritized, and discussion continues regarding a universal transfer agreement, similar to CCSNH's agreements with SNHU and Granite State.

Other Business

No further business was stated. The meeting adjourned at 10:54 am.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees