

Board of Trustees

COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM OF NH Meeting of February 18, 2022

Present (teleconference): Trustee Kathy Bogle Shields (Acting Chair), Trustee Robert Baines (Vice Chair), Trustee Paul Holloway (Past Chair), Trustee Alison Stebbins (Treasurer), Trustee Stephen Ellis, Trustee Jack Calhoun, Trustee Sharon Harris, Trustee Tricia Lucas, Trustee Todd Emmons, Trustee Hollie Noveletsky, Trustee Tiler Eaton, Trustee Kelly Pilotte, Trustee Bryant Abbott, Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Donnalee Lozeau, Trustee Richard Ackerman, President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Alfred Williams (RVCC), President Cathryn Addy (GBCC), President Lucille Jordan (NCC), Chancellor Mark Rubinstein

Regrets: Trustee Edwin Smith (Secretary), Trustee Steven Slovenski, Trustee Richard Heath, Trustee Steve Rothenberg, Trustee Loretta Blackwell, Trustee John Stevens, President Brian Bicknell (MCC), President Larissa Baia (LRCC), President Gretchen Mullin-Sawicki (NHTI), Commissioner Frank Edelblut (Department of Education), Jonathan Melanson (Governor's Office), Marie-Helene Bailinson (NH Department of Employment Security), Commissioner Taylor Caswell (NH Department of Business and Economic Affairs)

Others Presenting to the Board: Scott Fields (CCSNH), Shannon Reid (CCSNH), Sara Sawyer (CCSNH)

Chair Shields called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m. No conflicts of interest were expressed. Regarding the conduct of a telephonic meeting, the chair declared an emergency meeting, counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location, under the NH Right to Know Law, RSA 91-a:2, III (b), based on the following findings:

- i. The individual members of this Committee live and work in locations remote to any single meeting place;
- ii. Given the members' various professional and personal schedules it is not reasonably practical to gather a quorum of the Committee members in a single place for a physical meeting;
- iii. The business presented cannot be delayed until the committee's next regularly scheduled meeting in February 2022;
- iv. The interests of CCSNH, its students, faculty, and staff, and the State of New Hampshire will be best served by the committee's expeditious consideration of and decision on the matter presented.

Non-Public Session

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Mr. Baines and seconded by Mr. Calhoun, voted unanimously by roll call to conduct a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:3, II (b), in order to discuss hiring of a public employee.

The Board entered non-public session at 2:05 pm and returned to public session at 2:53 pm. No votes were taken in the non-public session.

VOTE: The Board, on motion of Ms. Shields and seconded by Ms. Lucas, voted unanimously by roll call to seal the minutes based upon RSA 91- A:3, III that divulgence of the information likely would render the proposed action ineffective and adversely affect the reputation of a person.



VOTE: The Board, on motion of Ms. Shields and seconded by Ms. Lucas, voted unanimously by roll call to appoint CCSNH Chancellor Mark Rubinstein to Interim President of NHTI—Concord's Community College, effective February 26, 2022 for an anticipated period of six months. The appointment is in addition to Dr. Rubinstein's current position as CCSNH Chancellor, with no change to the terms of his current appointment.

Other Business

No further business was brought forward. The meeting adjourned at 2:57 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meghan Eckner
Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and Board of Trustees