

Community College System of New Hampshire Board of Trustees

Monday, August 21, 2023 | 1:00pm - 1:30pm

NHTI - Concord's Community College, Grappone Hall 301 | Via Zoom

Present: Trustee Katharine Bogle Shields (Zoom), Trustee Edwin O. Smith, Trustee Alison Stebbins (Zoom-left at 1:06pm), Trustee Christopher Dodge (Zoom), Trustee Donnalee M. Lozeau (Zoom), Trustee Geoffrey Kennedy (Zoom), Trustee Gregory C. Eastman (Zoom), Trustee Kimberly Eckenrode (Zoom), Trustee Nick Toumpas (Zoom), Trustee Richard Ackerman (Zoom), Trustee Sharon D. Harris (Zoom), Trustee Steven H. Slovenski (Zoom), Trustee Tricia H. Lucas, Trustee Will Cunningham (Zoom), Chancellor Mark Rubinstein, President Alfred Williams IV (RVCC), President Lucille Jordan (NCC), Interim President Patrick Cate (LRCC) (Zoom)

Regrets: Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee John T. Stevens, Trustee Stephen J. Ellis, Trustee Tiffany Eddy, Trustee Todd C. Emmons, President Charles Lloyd (WMCC), President Cheryl Lesser (GBCC), Director Deanna Jurius (Dee), Director Joseph Doiron, Attorney Marie-Helene B. Bailinson, President Patrick Tompkins (NHTI)

Guests: Director Sara Sawyer, Executive Director Shannon Reid, Chief Operating Officer Scott Fields, Executive Director Tim Allison (Zoom)

Meeting Minutes:

Chair Shields called the meeting to order at 1:00pm and declared an emergency meeting, counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location, based on the following findings:

Under the Right to Know Law, RSA 91-A:2, III(b), a governmental body such as this Board of Trustees is authorized to meet by conference call when immediate action is imperative, and the physical presence of a quorum is not reasonably practical within the period of time requiring action. Chair Sheilds determined that a meeting by conference call is justified based on the following facts: The individual members of the Board of Trustees live and work in locations not conducive to a single meeting location; given the member's various professional and personal schedules it is not reasonably practical to gather a quorum of committee members in a single location; the business presented today cannot be delayed until the next scheduled meeting on October 19, 2023.

Attendance for the meeting was taken via roll call and is noted above.

Vote: Trustee Smith motioned to enter into a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:3, II(a), in order to discuss a personnel matter, Trustee Lucas seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously via roll call vote.



Chair Shields dismissed all those present who weren't Board members keeping in the room Director Sawyer, Executive Director Reid, Chief Operating Officer Fields, and Executive Assistant Hoefs.

Entered Non-Public Session at 1:07pm

Entered Public Session at 1:25pm

Topic: Proposed Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) for Adjunct Faculty

Vote: Trustee Smith motioned to approve the ratification of the 2023-2025 Adjunct Faculty Collective Bargaining Agreement as presented, Trustee Dodge seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously via roll call vote.

Discussion: Chair Shields thanked the CCSNH and SEA Bargaining Teams for their hard work in securing a new Collective Bargaining Agreement for the Adjunct Faculty.

Chair Shields motioned to adjourn the meeting at 1:28pm, all were in favor, meeting adjourned at 1:28pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Cassandra A. Hoefs

Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and the Board of Trustees