

Community College System of New Hampshire Board of Trustees

December 22, 2023 Hybrid Emergency Meeting

Present: Trustee Katharine Bogle Shields, Trustee Edwin O. Smith, Trustee Alison Stebbins, Trustee Christopher Dodge, Trustee Donnalee M. Lozeau, Trustee Gregory C. Eastman, Trustee Kimberly Eckenrode, Trustee Nick Toumpas, Trustee Richard Ackerman, Trustee Sharon D. Harris, Trustee Tricia H. Lucas, Trustee Will Cunningham, Trustee John T. Stevens, Trustee Stephen J. Ellis, Trustee Tiffany Eddy, Chancellor Mark Rubinstein, Vice Chancellor Charles Lloyd, Director Sara Sawyer

Regrets: Trustee Darrin Daniels, Trustee Geoffrey Kennedy, Trustee Steven H. Slovenski, Trustee Nick Curro, Director Deanna Jurius, Director Joseph Doiron, Legal Coordinator Sarah Morrisey, Director Stephen Appleby, President Alfred Williams IV (*RVCC*), President Lucille Jordan (*NCC*), Interim President Patrick Cate (*LRCC*), Interim President Melanie Robbins (*WMCC*), President Cheryl Lesser (*GBCC*), President Patrick Tompkins (*NHTI*), President Brian Bicknell (*MCC*)

Meeting Minutes:

Chair Shields called the meeting to order at 11:00am by declaring an emergency meeting, counting all members toward the quorum requirement whether or not physically present in the meeting location, based on the following findings:

Under the Right to Know Law, RSA 91-A:2, III(b), a governmental body such as this Board of Trustees is authorized to meet by conference call when immediate action is imperative, and the physical presence of a quorum is not reasonably practical within the period of time requiring action. It is my determination that a meeting by conference call is justified based on the following facts:

The individual members of the Board of Trustees live and work in locations not conducive to a single meeting location;

Given the member's various professional and personal schedules it is not reasonably practical to gather a quorum of board members in a single location;

The business presented today cannot be delayed until the next scheduled meeting on January 18, 2024.

Roll call attendance was taken and is noted above.

Vote: Trustee Smith motioned to enter into a non-public session according to the provisions in RSA 91-A:3, II(a), in order to discuss a personnel matter, Trustee Toumpas seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously via roll call vote.

Entered non-public session at 11:05am Exited non-public session at 11:15am

Upon exiting the non-public session the following votes were taken.

Vote: Trustee Smith motioned to approve the extension of the interim appointment for Patrick Cate until 6/30/2024 with the same provisions currently in place, Trustee Lucas seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously via roll call vote.



Vote: Trustee Smith motioned to approve the extension of the interim appointment for Melanie Robbins until 3/31/2024 with the same provisions currently in place, Trustee Lucas seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously via roll call vote.

Vote: Trustee Smith motioned to approve the ratification of the 2023-2025 Staff Collective Bargaining Agreement as presented. Trustee Toumpas seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously via roll call vote.

With no further business the meeting adjourned at 11:30am.

Respectfully submitted,

Cassandra A. Hoefs Executive Assistant to the Chancellor and the Board of Trustees